Sign In

Canada's FPs of the Year honoured

Family physicians with expertise in areas ranging from palliative care to emergency medicine and advanced trauma life support have received 2012 Reg L. Perkin awards, which honour them as "Family Physician of the Year" in each of the 10 provinces.

The awards, presented annually by the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) for the past 40 years, are named in honour of Dr. Reg Perkin the executive director from 1985-96.

"This award is special because it recognizes excellence among family physicians as well as the diversity that makes them special," says Dr. Calvin Gutkin, the current executive director and CEO. "This year's recipients are perfect examples. They come from a variety of urban centres and small rural communities, they work in a variety of practices, hospitals, institutions, homes and schools, and they each make significant contributions to their home communities. What they have in common is the passion for quality health care and providing the best for their patients."

The 2012 recipients, who were honoured during Family Doctor Week in Canada in mid-November, are:

  • Dr. Stanley Lubin, Vancouver
  • Dr. Michel Donoff, Edmonton
  • Dr. Daniel Johnson, Kindersley, Sask.
  • Dr. Frances Berard, Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes, Man.
  • Dr. Peter Wells, Collingwood, Ont.
  • Dr. Andrée Gagnon, Blainville, Qué.
  • Dr. Greg Donald, Ammon, NB
  • Dr. Jane Brooks, Middleton, NS
  • Dr. Paul Kelly, Summerside, PEI
  • Dr. Edgar Mayo, Burin Bay Arm, Nfld.

The recipients were nominated by colleagues, community leaders and the CFPC's provincial chapters.

Forward any comments about this article to: