Sign In

CMA members named to Order of Canada

Ten Canadian Medical Association (CMA) members were named to the Order of Canada in the most recent round of appointments, made July 1.

The doctors are among a group of physicians named that includes Dr. Frances Oldham Kelsey, a Canadian who was instrumental in helping end the use of thalidomide in the United States and who has had a distinguished career with the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Three CMA members were made officers of the Order of Canada by Governor General David Johnston. These are:

  • Sandra Black, senior scientist at Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, Toronto, for her contributions to improving the diagnosis and treatment of vascular dementia, Alzheimer’s disease and stroke
  • Mary Gospodarowicz Evans, clinical department head of the Princess Margaret Cancer Centre, Cancer Clinical Research Unit, Toronto, for her work in improving cancer radiotherapy and providing leadership in advancing cancer care around the world
  • James Thomas Rutka, chair of the University of Toronto department of surgery, for his contributions to the treatment of pediatric brain tumours and his international leadership in neurosurgery

CMA members newly named as members of the Order of Canada:

  • Aubie Angel, Toronto, founder and president of the Friends of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, for his contributions to endocrinology and the establishment of health organizations in Canada
  • Stewart Harris, Canadian Diabetes Association (CDA) Chair in Diabetes Management, Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry, Western University, London, Ont., for his work in reducing diabetes in Aboriginal communities and other vulnerable populations
  • Adeera Levin, professor and head of the nephrology division at the University of British Columbia, Vancouver, for her leadership in the treatment of kidney disease
  • Vivian Morris Rakoff, Toronto, for his contributions to psychiatry and his role in helping found the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health
  • Mohamed Iqbal Ravalia from Twillingate, Nfld., for his contributions to rural medicine as a family physician in that province
  • Marla Shapiro, Toronto, for her work as a family physician and communicator
  • Carolyn Ruth Wilson, professor of family medicine at Queen’s University, Kingston, Ont., for contributions to improving primary care in Ontario and for her leadership in family medicine

Other physicians named to the Order were: Daniel Drucker who was made an officer for his contributions in treating diabetes and intestinal disorders, and colleagues named as companions Jay Keystone, for his work in tropical and travel medicine, and Barbara Kristina Schmidt for her contributions to advancing care for critically ill neonates.

Forward any comments about this article to: