Sign In

​Owen Adams Award of Honour

The Owen Adams Award of Honour is the highest CMA award available to a non-physician.

The award is granted in recognition of:

  • contributions to the advancement of medical research, medical education, health care organization or health education of the public
  • service to the people of Canada in raising the standards of health care delivery in Canada
  • service to the profession in the field of medical organization
  • activities and initiatives that have contributed to improvements in the health and wellness of Canadians

Nomination form | Terms of reference


2018 Mike Gormley
2017Ron Sapsford
2016Alvin Libin
2015Camille Dow-Baker
2014Dr. Juliet Guichon
2013Nigel Fisher
2012Senator Roméo Dallaire
2011Dr. Austin Mardon​
2010Honourable Michael J.L. Kirby
2009Dr. Mark A. Wainberg
2008Louise Miller
2007David Patchell-Evans
2006Christiane Ayotte
2005Dr. Lou Siminovitch
2004Prof. Edward W. Keyserlingk
2003Raymond V. Rajotte
2002Honourable Peter Lougheed
2001Prof. Evelyn Shapiro
2000Naranjan Dhalla
1999Richard B. Stein
1998Jack Gauldie
1997Peter Fraser
1996Dr. Lap-Chee Tsui
1995David J. Roy
1994Michael Smith
1993Douglas Albert Geekie
1992Bernard ("Woody") E. Freamo
1990Hugh Clifford Chadderton
1988Fernand Séguin
1987Rick Hansen
1986Joan Hollobon
1985Dr. Raymond Urgel Lemieux
1984Dr. David Suzuki
1983Dr. Harold E. Johns
1982Esther Robins